A human being is part of a whole – by Albert Einstein pondered by BrendaM

“A human being is part of a whole, called by us the ‘Universe’ —a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts, and feelings, as something separated from the rest—a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circles of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature in its beauty.”  Albert Einstein

I read this just before I went to bed last night and new I wanted to ‘share’ this on Facebook because it resonates as true to me; I have believed ‘we all are one’ for as long as I can remember, although the optical delusion that Einstein mentions rears it’s head on a regular basis and I lose myself in the ego patterns of being human, feeling separate, defending myself and my “people” from others who appear to be a threat…

Then as I woke up this morning I thought about blogging, how popular it is, wondering why so many of us are willing to share some of our innermost thoughts with potentially the world?  It dawned on me that maybe it is our way to feel connected, to break the illusion of separateness.  I think we all long for the feeling of connection with others. Is it because at some level we remember we all are part of a whole?

To blog is a way of  sending out little tendrils of ourselves to try and connect on a somewhat illusionary, concrete level.  Illusionary to me, because I really don’t understand how this internet stuff works…reaching around the world in seconds? And concrete because people can and do respond. Could it be a small step toward  freedom from the prison that Einstein was talking about?  It’s certainly a way of widening our circles; we finish writing, click on publish, it gets sent out to our social networks of choice, then we sit back and wait…..how many people will read it?  Will they make a comment?  Will it be positive?  It is a way of saying “Hello world, I am here too, do you like or agree with what I have to share and want to connect?”  I hope it’s a step toward compassion and embracing of the whole. I would love to re-member my connectedness on a more consistent basis, let go of the petty judgements of others and look for the light that is shining in all of us.

Now the dilemma, do I click publish or not?

What the heck, maybe it will be like digging out of prison with a spoon, but it’s a start.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

