End of Lesson 2: Basic Principles of the Science of Mind

Thought and Its Power was the focus for Lesson 2…I have a favorite quote, which I posted few days ago “Never say a thing about yourself that you do not want to see realized in your life” but I want to add something to it…”Never say a thing about yourself, or someone else that you do not want to see realized in your life”.  It is all to easy to be drawn into the gossip pot when hanging out with friends and co-workers, or if you’ve felt hurt by someone to verbalize the hurtful things or words that were thrown at you, I’ve also been known to play the “oh, you think YOU’VE got it bad!  My life sucks way more than yours!! It’s almost like I feel guilty if my life is going good and the people in my life are living out the shit show.  I self sabotage by finding all my own crap to whine and complain about, to feel better (?) about my life…uhh, that just seems wrong when I see it in black and white.   This re-realization brings to mind a great poem :

Life Prayers

Our deepest fear

is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear

is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light,

not our darkness

that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves,

who am I to be brilliant,

gorgeous, talented and fabulous?

Actually who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightening about shrinking

so that other people

won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest

the glory of God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us;

it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,

we unconsciously give other people

permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,

our presence automatically liberates others.

                                              Marianne Williamsonsunshine

I am guilty of gossip, saying hurtful things, and playing the I’ve got it worse game…and I think I’m probably in good company…would that be good company??? By good company, I mean I’m not alone…I don’t think I’ve met anyone that’s never said something negative about someone else.  I have tried… (such a lame word…how do you try to do something?  In the words of Yoda “Do or do not. There is no try”), so, instead – when I am conscious of my thoughts I am more successful at biting my tongue – But have still been amazed how the words slip out even when I know it’s in no ones best interest to utter them!! I’ve also realized when I’ve judged someone’s choices in life, and spoken (been aghast, bitchy, self righteous) about it, I’ve had the opportunity to ‘walk a mile in their shoes’!! It’s a great lesson, and generally see it was my own doing…sometimes it takes time – hindsight being 20/20 after all.

Lesson 2 was a great reminder to watch my words and turn negative discussions to a positive optimistic direction…and when troubles come my way, to ask myself:

  • What will this teach me?
  • What good can come of this?
  • What in ME brought this about?

When I’m on, this comes pretty easy to me…but when I’m off…not so much!! I have to duct tape that light switch to stay on and replace all those dimmer switches!!

This entry was posted in Choices, perspective, Science of Mind and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

