And then there’s “I knew I should have…”

I will often get a little niggle* in my brain, telling me to do something…and when I do whatever it is it tells me, life carries on like nothing special happened…which is maybe why I don’t see how important those little niggles are!!

I think niggles are small little knowings – intuition maybe – seemingly inconsequential in the big picture…and sometimes pretty obvious…don’t put the keys down there, make a note of that, turn this way, call so and so…etc.  Hindsight can be quite enlightening though…then I get to learn just how important a little niggle can be! I can’t go into any details, confidentiality and all that, but suffice it to say, today I had a niggle, just the teeniest little one, a whisper of one…why oh why did I disregard it!! Had I listened I probably would have averted a, rather unpleasant task.  I mean, it’s not like something good didn’t come out of it, C and I had to laugh at the situation (it was that or cry!), but the task took quite a bit longer than it would  have, (with less man power) had I done it when the niggle was niggling me!

Lesson learned (I hope!!) Listen to the niggles, even the smallest of them…or maybe especially the smallest of them!!

* I’m a little disappointed…I really liked the word niggle, and wanted to make sure I was using it correctly…I guess I am, but I didn’t realize the negative connotation it comes with 😦  I don’t like to think of something with the potential to make my life easier as negative.

nig·gling

adjective

1.

petty; trivial; inconsequential: to quibble about a niggling differencein terminology.
2.

demanding too much care, attention, time, etc.: niggling choresabout the house.
This entry was posted in Choices, lessons, Niggling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And then there’s “I knew I should have…”

  1. Haha, awesome. My last niggle that I didn’t listen to has now left me with a tattoo that I don’t like!!! Gotta laugh right! I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t listen sometimes.

Leave a Reply

