More Mandalas and “Better than Before”

wp-1453100046777.jpeg

Over half way through January and I’m still on track. I’ve posted a mandala a day on my instagram and I feel confident I’ll have the elephant done by the weekend.

I read Gretchen Rubin‘s book ‘Better than Before’ last summer. I like that she does a lot of research, uses herself as a guinea pig and shares a lot of anecdotes. If you go to her website you can take a quiz which will give you an idea of what kind of tendencies you have (Upholder, Questioner, Obliger, or Rebel) and how to make new habits based on that info. (Just click on her name above and it will take you to her website.)

I think I’ll reread this book again, I’m pretty sure I’m a rebel – I tend to not like being told what to do – even when it’s me telling myself! I think this was the first self help book I’ve read (and I’ve read a lot!) that mentions that tendency in it.

I remember after reading ‘BTB’ I had a burst of energy, came up with a game plan and was pretty productive for a few weeks. Then I went on holidays and when I returned I just fell back into my old routine of just playing everyday by ear with no plans or goals.

Since I know I feel better – happier – when I’m accomplishing something,  being creative; my goal for 2016 is to stay on top of it, be mindful of the choices I make every day. At the very least, create a mandala a day 🙂

This entry was posted in Books, Gretchen Rubin, Mandala and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

